2007 Board of Directors Reports

NAKPEHE Officers

President

Mel E. Finkenberg (2006-2007)
Department of Kinesiology & Health Science
Box 13015, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3015
936.468.1790(office)
936.468.1850 (fax)
mfinkenberg@sfasu.edu

President-elect

Jan Rintala (2006-2007)
Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
815.753.1894 (office)
815.753.1413 (fax)
jrintala@niu.edu

Past President

Ginny Overdorf (2006-2007)
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973.720.2419 (office)
973.720.2034 (fax)
overdorfv@wpunj.edu

Vice President

Jimmy Ishee (2006-2007)
College of Health Sciences
Texas Woman's University
P.O. Box 425527
Denton, TX 76204
940.898.2852 (office)
940.898.2853 (fax)
jIshee@twu.edu

Vice President-elect

Carolyn Mauck (2006-2006)
Del Mar College
Kinesiology, Health Studies & Recreation
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361.698.1338 (office)
361.698.1936 (fax)
cmauck@delmar.edu

Secretary

Robert Stadulis (2005-2007)
School of Exercise, Leisure & Sport
Kent State University
Kent OH 44242
330-672-2117 (office)
672-4106 (fax) 
rstaduli@kent.edu 

Executive Secretary/Treasurer

Ginny Overdorf (2006-2007) 
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973.720.2419 (office)
973.720.2034 (fax)
vgo@prodigy.net


Appointments

Archivist

Richard A. Swanson (2005-2006)
Department of Exercise and Sport Science
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, NC 27402
336.334.5999 (office)
336.334.3238 (fax)
raswonso@uncg.edu

Necrologist

Deborah Buswell (2006-2009)
Stephen F. Austin State University
Department of Kinesiology and Health Science
Box 13015, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3015
936.468.1661 (Office)
936.468.1850 (Fax)
buswelld@sfasu.edu

Oral History Project

Parliamentarian

Steve Estes (2006-2007)
Department of Exercise and Sport Science
176 Minges Coliseum
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858
252.328.4635 (office)
252.328.4654 (fax)
estesst@mail.ecu.edu

Site Selection 2008 Conference

Ginny Overdorf (2006-2007)
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973.720.2419 (office)
973.720.2034 (fax)
overdorfv@wpunj.edu 


NAKPEHE Committees

Awards

John Dunn (2006-2009), Chair
Provost and Vice Chancellor
Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Anthony Hall Room 125, Mailcode 4305
Carbondale, IL 62901-4305
618.453.5744 (Office)
618. 453.1478 (Fax)
jmdunn@siu.edu

Steve Frierman (2004-2007)
Hofstra University
Department of PESP
102 Dome
Hempstead, NY 11549
618.453.5744 (Office)
618. 453.1478 (Fax)
Drsportpsy22@aol.com

David Kahan (2006-2009)
San Diego State University
Department of Exercise and Nutritional Sciences
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182-7251
619.594.3887 (Office)
619.594.6553(Fax)
dkahan@mail.sdsu.edu

Ginny Overdorf (2006-2007, ex officio)
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2419 (office)
973-720-2034 (fax)
overdorfv@wpunj.edu

Bylaws

Beverly Mitchell (2006-2009), Chair
Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Science
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
770.423.6417 (office)
770.423.6561 (fax)
bmitchel@kennesaw.edu

David Claxton (2005-2008)
Department of Health and Human Performance
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, NC 28723
828.227.3543 (office)
828.227.7645 (fax)
claxton@email.wcu.edu

Carolyn Mauck (2005-2008)
Del Mar College
Kinesiology, Health Studies & Recreation
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361.698.1338 (office)
361.698.1936 (fax)
cmauck@delmar.edu

Robert Mechikoff (2006-2009)
Department of Exercise Science
San Diego State University
San Diego, CA 92182-7251
619.594.1925 (office)
619.594.6553 (fax)
rmechiko@mail.sdsu.edu

Steve Estes (2006-2009)
Department of Exercise and Sport Science
176 Minges Coliseum
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858
252.328.4635 (office)
252.328.4654 (fax)
estesst@mail.ecu.edu

Gloria Napper-Owen (2006-2009)
Department of Physical Performance and Development
University of New Mexico
Johnson Center 1150
MSC 04 2610
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87111
505.277.8180 (office)
505.277.6227 (fax)
napperow@unm.edu

Elections

Shane G. Frehlich (2005-2007), Chair
Department of Kinesiology
258 Kinesiology Building
California State University, Northridge
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8287
818.677.6437 (office)
818.677.3207 (fax)
shane.g.frehlich@csun.edu

Ginny Overdorf (2006-2007, ex officio)
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2419 (office)
973-720-2034 (fax)
overdorfv@wpunj.edu

Alison Wrynn (2005-2008)
Chronicle of Physical Education in Higher Education, Editor
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
California State University, Long Beach
Long Beach, CA 90840
562.985.4085
awrynn@csulb.edu

Richard Oates (2006-2009)
North Georgia College
Dahlonega, GA 30597
706-864-1624 (office)
roates@ngcsu.edu

Deborah Buswell (2006-2009)
Stephen F. Austin State University
Department of Kinesiology and Health Science
Box 13015, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3015
936.468.1661 (Office)
936.468.1850 (Fax)
buswelld@sfasu.edu

Glenn Miller (2006-2009)
Baylor University
Department of Health, Human Performance and Recreation
One Bear Place #97313
Waco, TX 76798-7313 
254.710.4001 (Office)
254.710.3527 (Fax)
glenn_miller@baylor.edu 

Foundation

Marilyn Buck (2004-2007), Chair
School of Physical Education
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306
765.285.5955 (office)
765.285.3485 (fax)
mbuck@bsu.edu

Judy Bischoff (2006-2009)
jbischof@niu.edu

Mel E. Finkenberg (2006-2007; ex officio)
Department of Kinesiology & Health Science
Box 13015, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3015
936.468.1790 (office)
936.468.1850 (fax)
mfinkenberg@sfasu.edu

Bill Sparks (2005-2008)
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
785.231.1010 (office)
785.231.1059 (fax)
bill.sparks@washburn.edu

Future Directions

Michael Metzler (2005-2008), Chair
Associate Dean, College of Education
Chair, Kinesiology and Health Department
Georgia State University
404.651.3964 (Office)
404.651.2555 (Fax)
mmetzler@gsu.edu 

Leah Fiorentino (2006-2007)
College Of Education 
Florida Atlantic University
ED339, 777 Glades Rd
Boca Raton, FL 33431 561.297.3965 (office)
lfiorent@fau.edu

Carolyn Mauck (2006-2007; ex officio)
Del Mar College
Kinesiology, Health Studies & Recreation
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361.698.1338 (office)
361.698.1936 (fax)
cmauck@delmar.edu 

Bob Pangrazi (2006-2009)
7435 S. Rita Lane
Tempe. AZ 85283
480 839 7956 (office)
Mobile 480 235 8733 (mobile)
pangrazi1@msn.com

Jan Rintala (2006-2007; ex officio)
Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
815.753.1894 (office)
815.753.1413 (fax)
jrintala@niu.edu

Membership

RR Apache (2204-2007)
Department of Sports Education Leadership
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
4505 Maryland Parkway, Box 453031
Las Vegas, NV 89154
702.895.2493 (office)
702.895.3492 (fax)
rr.apache@ccmail.nevada.edu 

Bill Forbes (2006-2009)
Towson State University
Wellness Center
410.704.4555 (office)
wforbes@towson.edu

Shawn Ladda (2005-2008)
Dept. of Physical Education & Human Performance
Manhattan College
Bronx, NY 10471
718.862.7811(office)
718.862.7492 (fax)
Shawn.ladda@manhattan.edu

Melanie Mitchell (2006-2009)
Department of Health, Leisure, and Exercise Science
Appalachian State University
ASU Box 32071
Boone, NC 28608
828 262 4039 (office)
828 262 3138 (fax)
mitchellms@appstate.edu

Sharon Shields (2006-2009)
Human Development/Health Promotion
POB 90 Peabody Station
Peabody/Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37215
615.343.2561 (office)
615.343.2661 (fax)
shieldsvu@aol.com

Bill Sparks (2006-2009)
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
785-231-1010 (office)
785-231-1059 (fax)
bill.sparks@washburn.edu

Public Affairs

Anne Stewart (2005-2008), Chair
Department of Kinesiology
Del Mar College
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361.698.1336 (office)
361.698.1936 (fax)
astewart@delmar.edu 

Nancy Burkhalter (2005-2008)
Texas Women's University
PO Box 425647
Denton, TX 760204-5647
940.898.2594 (Office)
940.898.2581 (Fax)
nburkhalter@twu.edu 

Kathryn Davis (2004-2007)
Middle Tennessee State University
Murphy Center 119
MTSU PO Box 96
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
davis@mtsu.edu 

Mel E. Finkenberg (2006-2007; ex officio)
Department of Kinesiology & Health Science
Box 13015, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3015
936.468.1790(office)
936.468.1850 (fax)
mfinkenberg@sfasu.edu

Publications

John Massengale, Chair
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
4504 Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154-3034
Office: 702.895.4096
702.458.9649 (Home)
702.895.1500 (Fax)
massengale@ccmail.nevada.edu 

Sally Ayer (2004-2005) OPERA, Editor
7915 N. Armstrong Avenue
Clovis, CA 93611
559-299-8562 (home)
559-299-8562 (fax)
sallya@csufresno.edu 

Joy T. DeSensi (2005-2007) Quest, Editor
Sport and Leisure Studies Department
The University of Tennessee
1914 Andy Holt Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37996-2700
865.974.1282 (office)
865.974.8981 (fax)
desensi@utk.edu

Susan Hall (2006-2009)
Department of Health, Nutrition, and Exercise Sciences
University of Delaware
26 N. College Ave.
025 Carpenter Sports Bldg.
Newark, DE 19716
302.831-2265 (office)
302.831-4261 (fax)
sjhall@UDel.Edu 

Carolyn Mauck (2006-2007; ex officio)
Del Mar College
Kinesiology, Health Studies & Recreation
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361.698.1338 (office)
361.698.1936 (fax)
cmauck@delmar.edu 

Judy Oslin (2005-2007)
261A Memorial Gym Annex
School of Exercise, Leisure, and Sport
Kent State University
Kent, OH 44242
330.672.4106 (Fax)
330.672.0230 (Phone)
joslin@kent.edu

Alison Wrynn (2005-2008)
Chronicle of Physical Education in Higher Education, Editor
1250 Bellflower Blvd.
Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
California State University, Long Beach
Long Beach, CA 90840
562-985-4085 (office)
awrynn@csulb.edu 

Social Justice/Cultural Diversity

Anna Marie Frank (2004-2007), Chair
Physical Education and Fitness Management
School of Education
2320 N. Kenmore
DePaul University
Chicago, IL 60614
773.325.1689 (office)
773.325.7748 (fax)
afrank@depaul.edu

Kathryn Davis (2004-2007)
Middle Tennessee State University
Murphy Center 119
MTSU PO Box 96
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
davis@mtsu.edu

Samuel Hodges (2005-2008)
The Ohio State University
School of Physical Activity and Educational Services
212 Pomerene Hall
1760 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210
614.292.8364
hodge.14@osu.edu 

Betty Jones (2006-2009)
IUPUI Indiana University Purdue University Indiannapolis
Department of Physical Education
901 West New York Street, PE 270
Indianapolis, IN46202-5193
betjones@iupui.edu 

Anthony Laker (2006-2009)
Department of Exercise and Sport Science
East Carolina University
Minges Coliseum 154 
Greenville, NC 27858
252.328.0009 
Lakera@mail.ecu.edu 

Judi Phillips (2006-2009)
Department of Kinesiology, Health Studies, and Recreation
Del Mar College
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361.698.1685
jphilli@delmar.edu

Technology

Carol Wood (2004-2007), Co-Chair
Seidel School of Education and Professional Studies
Department of HPEHP, 1100 Camden Avenue
Salisbury State University
Delmar, DE 19940
410.548.3256
cawood@salisbury.edu

Gordon Schmidt (2005-2008), Co-Chair
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973.720.2362 (office)
973.720.2034 (fax)
schmidtg@wpunj.edu 

Jeff Briggs (2006-2009)
College of Health and Life Sciences
Fort Hays State University
Hays, KS 67601
785.628.4200 (office)
785.628.4290 (fax)
jbriggs@fhsu.edu 

Rachel Gurvitch (2005-2008)
Department of Kinesiology and Health
Georgia State University
P.O. Box 3975
Atlanta, GA 30302-3975
404.651.1110 (office)
404.651.4841 (fax)
rgurvitch@gsu.edu 

Robert McKethan (2006-2009)
Department of HLES
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC 28608
828.262.6327 (office)
828.262.3138 (fax)
mckethanrn@appstate.edu