NAKPEHE Leadership Directory
2004-2005

President
Bill Sparks (2004-2005)
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
785-231-1010 (office)
785-231-1059 (fax)
bill.sparks@washburn.edu 

President-Elect
Ginny Overdorf  (2004-2005)
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2419 (office)
973-720-2034 (fax)
overdorfv@wpunj.edu 

Past President
Marilyn Buck (2004-2005)
School of Physical Education
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306
765-285-1472 (office)
765-285-3485 (fax)
mbuck@bsu.edu 

Vice President
Bill Forbes (2004-2005)
Department of Kinesiology
Towson University
8000 York Road
Towson, MD 21252-0001
410-704-4555 (office)
410-704-8321 (fax)
wforbes@towson.edu 

Vice President-Elect
Camille P. O'Bryant
Sport and Leisure Studies Department
The University of Tennessee
333 HPER
1914 Andy Holt Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37996-2700
865-974-0359 (phone)
865-974-8981 (fax)
cobryant@utk.edu 

Secretary
Beverly Mitchell (2004-2005)
Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Science
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
770-423-6417 (office)
770-423-6561 (fax)
bmitchel@kennesaw.edu 

Executive Secretary/Treasurer
Jackie Lund (2004-2006)
Dept Kinesiology & Health,
PO Box 3975, 33 Gilmer Street, SE Unit 7
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30303-3087
404-463-2293 (office)
404-651-4814 (fax)
jllund@att.net 

Appointments

Archivist
Richard A. Swanson (2004-2005)
Department of Exercise and Sport Science
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro, NC 27402
336-334-5999 (office)
336-334-3238 (fax)
raswanso@uncg.edu

Necrologist
Joanna Jody Davenport (2004-2005)
24 Harbor Avenue
Marblehead, MA 01945
781-631-3860 (H)
davenjo@juno.com

Oral History Project

Parliamentarian
Robert O. Ruhling (2004-2005)
Department of Health, Fitness, and Recreation Resources
George Mason University 4E5
Manassas, VA 20110-2203
703-993-2061 (office)
703-993-2025 (fax)
rruhling@gmu.edu 

Site Selection 2007 Conference
Marilyn Buck (2004-2005)
School of Physical Education
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306
765-285-1472 (office)
765-285-3485 (fax)
mbuck@bsu.edu 

AFFILIATED ASSOCIATIONS LIAISONS

AIESEP
Ronald S. Feingold
Dept. of Health Studies, Physical Education & Human Performance Science
Adelphi University
Garden City, NJ 11530
516-877-4262 (office)
516-877-4258 (fax)
feingold@adelphi.edu 

CUAC
Betty A. Jones
IUPUI
Physical Education
901 W. New York
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5193
317-274-2248 (office)
betjones@iupui.edu 

ICHPER-SD
Mimi Murray
Department of Physical Education
Springfield College
Springfield, MA 01109
413-748-3168 (office)
413-748-3537 (fax) 

SAWPASH
Mickey Taylor
taylorm@winthrop.edu 

WCPES

WSPECW
Margaret Elliot
17745 Elmhurst Circle
Yorba Linda, CA 92686-3323
714-996-8023 (home)
melliot177@aol.com  

LIAISONS

AAKPE
John Dunn (2004-2005)
Office of the Provost & Vice Chancellor
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901-4305
jmdunn@notes.siu.edu 

AAHPERD
Beverly Mitchell (2004-2005)
Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Science
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
770-423-6417 (office)
770-423-6561 (fax)
bmitchel@kennesaw.edu  

AAHPERD RESEARCH CONSORTIUM

NATIONAL COALITION FOR PROMOTING PHYSICAL ACTIVITY
Sandra L. Sandy Gallemore (2004-2005)
220 Merrywood Drive
Statesboro, GA 30458
912-681-6244 (H)
sgallemore@georgiasouthern.edu 

COMMITTEES

AWARDS
Charles Ash, Chair (2004-2005)
Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Science
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
770-423-6216 (office)
770-423-6561 (fax)
cash@kennesaw.edu 

Robert Mechikoff (2004-2006)
Department of Exercise Science
San Diego State University
San Diego, CA 92182-7251
619-594-1925  (office)
619-594-6553  (fax)
rmechiko@mail.sdsu.edu 

Steve Frierman
Hofstra University
Department of PESP
102 Dome
Hempstead, NY 11549 

Sue Barnd (2004-2005)
5730 Dalton Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80919
719-590-1029 (H)
sbarnd@juno.com  

BYLAWS
Richard Oates, Chair (2004-2005)
North Georgia College
Dahlonega, GA 30597
706-864-1624 (office)
roates@ngcsu.edu

David Claxton
Department of Health and Human Performance
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, NC 28723
828-227-3543 (office)
828-227-7645 (fax)
claxton@email.wcu.edu 

Carolyn Mauck (2004-2005)
Del Mar College
Kinesiology, Health Studies & Recreation
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
cmauck@delmar.edu 

Greg Letter (2004-2006)
Mississippi State University
Department of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Sport
PO Box 6186
Mississippi State, MS 39762
662-325-9281 (office)
662-325-4525
gletter@colled.msstate.edu 

ELECTIONS
Mandi Anderson, Chair (2004-2005)
University of Wisconsin Ç La Crosse
217 Mitchell Hall
La Crosse, WI 54601
608-785-6543 (office)
Anderson.mary@uwlax.edu 

Mary Jo MacCracken (2004-2005)
Professor, Sport Science & Wellness
The University of Akron
Akron, OH 44325-5103
330-972-6485 (office)
330-972-5293 (fax)
maccrac@uakron.edu 

Robert Stadulis (2004-2005)
School of Exercise, Leisure and Sport
Kent State University
Kent, OH 44242
rstaduli@kent.edu 

Joanne Dusel (2004-2006)
Department of Kinesiology
California Polytechnic State University
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
805-756-7050 (office)
jhynesdu@calpoly.edu

Julian Reed (2004-2006)
Furman University
3300 Poinsett Highway
Greenville, SC 29613-1142
864-294-2328 (office)
864-294-2942 (fax)
julian.reed@furman.edu 

Bill Sparks (ex officio)
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
785-231-1010 (office)
785-231-1059 (fax)
bill.sparks@washburn.edu

FOUNDATIONS
Judith Bischoff, Chair  (2004-2005)
1891 N. Via Carrizal
Green Valley, AZ 85614
520-393-1144 (Home)
Nehungate@aol.com

Charles Ash (2004-2006)
Department of Health, Physical Education and Sport Science
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
770-423-6216 (office)
770-423-6561 (fax)
cash@kennesaw.edu 

Marilyn Buck (2004-2007)
School of Physical Education
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306
765-285-1472 (office)
765-285-3485 (fax)
mbuck@bsu.edu 

Bill Sparks (ex officio)
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
785-231-1010 (office)
785-231-1059 (fax)
bill.sparks@washburn.edu 

FUTURE DIRECTIONS
Steve Estes, Chair (2004-2005)
Department of Exercise and Sport Science
176 Minges Coliseum
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858
252-328-4635 (office)
252-328-4654 (fax)
estesst@mail.ecu.edu
http://personal.ecu.edu/estesst/index.htm 

Susan Kovar (2004-2006)
2921 N. Governeour Street, Apt 115
Wichita State University
Wichita, KS 76226
316-978-6240 (Office)
316-978-3253 (Fax)
susan.kovar@wichita.edu 

Jan Rintala (2004-2007)
Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-1894 (Office)
815-753-1413 (Fax)
jrintala@niu.edu

Jackie Lund (2004-2006)
Dept Kinesiology & Health,
PO Box 3975, 33 Gilmer Street, SE Unit 7
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA 30303-3087
404-463-2293 (Office)
404-651-4814 (Fax)
jllund@att.net

Ginny Overdorf (2004-2005)
President-Elect
Department of Exercise and Movement Sciences
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2419 (office)
973-720-2034 (fax)
overdorfv@wpunj.edu

Camille P. O'Bryant (2004-2005)
Vice President-Elect
Sport and Leisure Studies Department
The University of Tennessee
333 HPER
1914 Andy Holt Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37996-2700
865-974-0359 (Phone)
865-974-8981 (Fax)
cobryant@utk.edu

MEMBERSHIP
E. Newton Jackson, Co-Chair (2004-2005)
206 Gaither Office Complex
Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation
Florida A & M University
Tallahassee, FL 32307-6100
850-599-3136 (Office)
newton.jackson@famu.edu

Gloria Napper-Owen, Co-Chair (2004-2005)
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87111
napperow@unm.edu 

Shane G. Frehlich, Ph.D. (2004-2005)
Assistant Professor
Department of Kinesiology
258 Kinesiology Building
California State University, Northridge
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8287
818-677-6437 (office)
818-677-3207 (fax)
shane.g.frehlich@csun.edu 

Laureen Laurie Morley (2004-2005)
Eastern Washington University
Physical Education, Health and Recreation Department
200 Physical Education Building
Cheney, WA 99004-2476
509-359-2312 (Office)
509-359-4833 (Fax)

Craig Morrison (2004-2006)
Department of Physical Education
Southern Utah University
Cedar City, UT 84720
morrison@suu.edu 

PUBLIC AFFAIRS
Anne Stewart, Chair (2004-2005)
Department of Kinesiology
Del Mar College
101 Baldwin
Corpus Christi, TX 78404
361-698-1336 (Office)
361-698-1936 (fax)
astewart@delmar.edu 

Ronald Hyatt (2004-2005)
6728 Falconbridge Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27517
rhyatt@email.unc.edu 

Carolyn Crislip-Tacy (2004-2006)
Fairmont State College
Health & Human Performance
1201 Locust Avenue
Fairmont, WV 26554
ccrisliptacy@mail.fscwv.edu 

PUBLICATIONS
Jimmy H. Ishee, Chair  (2004-2005)

Chronicle of Physical Education in Higher Education, Editor
School of Health Sciences
Georgia College and State University
Milledgeville, GA 31061-0490
478-445-4004 (office)
478-445-1913 (fax)
jimmy.ishee@gcsu.edu 

OPERA, Editor
Sally Ayer (2004-2005)
7915 N. Armstrong Avenue
Clovis, CA 93611
559-299-8562 (Home)
559-299-8562 (Fax)
sallya@csufresno.edu

Quest, Editor
Joy T. DeSensi (2005-2007)
Sport and Leisure Studies Department
The University of Tennessee
1914 Andy Holt Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37996-2700
865-974-1282 (Office)
865-974-8981 (Fax)
desensi@utk.edu 

Bill Sparks (ex officio)
Washburn University
1700 SW College Avenue
Topeka, KS 66621
785-231-1010 (Office)
785-231-1059 (Fax)
bill.sparks@washburn.edu

SOCIAL JUSTICE/CULTURAL DIVERSITY:
Anna Marie Frank, Chair  (2004-2005)
Physical Education and Fitness Management
School of Education
2320 N. Kenmore
DePaul University
Chicago, IL  60614
773-325-1689 (Office)
773-325-7748 (Fax)
afrank@depaul.edu

Sharon Shields (2004-2005)
Human Development/Health Promotion
POB 90 Peabody Station
Peabody/Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN 37215
615-343-2561 (Office)
615-343-2661 (Fax)
shieldsvu@aol.com  

Betty A. Jones
IUPUI
Physical Education
901 W. New York
Indianapolis, IN 46202-5193
317-274-2248 (Office)
betjones@iupui.edu

Joe W. Burden, Jr. (2004-2005)
1422 McKee Road
Dover, DE 19904
Jburde1@lsu.edu 

TECHNOLOGY
Carol Wood, Chair  (2004-2007)
Salisbury State University
Delmar, DE 19940
cawood@salisbury.edu

Mark Stanbrough  (2002-2005)
Division of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Emporia State University
Box 4013
Emporia, KS 66801
316-341-5399 (Office)
stanbrom@emporia.edu
http://www.emporia.edu/hper/faculty/ facultywebs/stanbrough/stanbrough.htm

Bill Stinson (2002-2005)
Division of Health, Physical Education and Recreation
Emporia State University
Box 4013
Emporia, KS 66801
316-341-5934 (Office)
stinsonb@emporia.edu

Valerie Wayda (2003-2006)
School of Physical Education
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306
765-285-2275 (Office)
765-285-8254 (Fax)
vwayda@bsu.edu 

QUEST
Joy T. DeSensi, Editor (2005-2007)
Cultural Studies
1914 Andy Holt Avenue
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-2700
865-974-1282 (Office)
865-974-8981 (Fax)
desensi@utk.edu

David K. Wiggins, Associate Editor (2005-2007)
Department of HFRR
George Mason University
10900 University Drive
Manassas, VA 20110
703-993-2057 (Office)
703-764-3260 (Home)
703-993-2025 (Fax)
dwiggin1@gmu.edu

THE CHRONICLE OF PHYSICAL EDUCATION IN HIGHER EDUCATION
Jimmy H. Ishee (2004-2005)
School of Health Sciences
Georgia College and State University
Milledgeville, GA 31061-0490
478-445-4004 (office)
478-445-1913 (fax)
jimmy.ishee@gcsu.edu  

OPPORTUNITIES IN PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND RELATED AREAS (OPERA):
Sally Ayer, Editor
7915 N. Armstrong Avenue
Clovis, CA 93611
559-299-8562 (home)
559-299-8562 (fax)
sallya@csufresno.edu